TinyURL.com - spyware??
In my post titled TinyURL.com - where tiny is better! I mentioned that I had created tinyurls for this site. I was told by someone that tinyurl.com generates spyware. I never knew that to be the case. If someone can varify that, please let me know. This entry was posted on Friday, October 29, 2004 at 10:04 AM.

3 Comments:
I think the problem was that the Google Groups post had a typo, tinyur.com rather than tinyurl.com (it seems that no link is short enough to avoid that problem!). For obvious reasons I haven't visited tinyur.com, but a Google search for "tinyur spyware" gives a small number of results making tinyur.com sound highly suspect; a Google search for "tinyurl spyware" gives a vast number of unrelated results (people talking about spyware in pages with tinyurl links!)
By Anonymous, at 5:40 AM
I have a little bot I use that creates tinyurls for me from the site. The other day I pasted in a link, I believe it was for the New York Times, into said bot. When I loaded the tinyurl, I saw some redir link pop up. I have ALL of my cookies as 'ask first'. And up pops a cookie for ads.fastmedia.net. I asked a few people to verify this, and they, too, saw the page popup for a second and then redirection to NYT. ads.fastmedia is known for spyware. I have no doubt now that tinyurl is part of the spyware issue.
By Anonymous, at 8:13 AM
I have a little bot I use that creates tinyurls for me from the site. The other day I pasted in a link, I believe it was for the New York Times, into said bot. When I loaded the tinyurl, I saw some redir link pop up. I have ALL of my cookies as 'ask first'. And up pops a cookie for ads.fastmedia.net. I asked a few people to verify this, and they, too, saw the page popup for a second and then redirection to NYT. ads.fastmedia is known for spyware. I have no doubt now that tinyurl is part of the spyware issue.
By Anonymous, at 8:13 AM
Post a Comment
<< Home